Moving on from the shitty first draft

“Give yourself permission to write a shitty first draft”  – Ann Lamotte .

The best quote I have read in a while.

Thing is I have written a few drafts over time and each of them gave the impression of being a first…primarily because am neither a writer, nor its new age version – a blogger. Very indisciplined, just as easily bored and ramble off like an old sailor, minus the rum and the stories.

Technically, they were all first drafts, because either by the virtue of a limited imagination, poor writing or pointless rambling, they were destined to be so…They were, as Anne very honestly points out, shitty as well.

Tapping away on the keyboard in the middle of the night or a quiet afternoon was a way to spend some time by myself and I preferred to remain anonymous. It naturally follows, that the blog had to be private as well, as I couldn’t possibly presume to subject anyone else to what I couldn’t bring myself to work/build on.

Life and time, both continually flow and surprise. I found opportunities to travel and found that I liked it. I love meeting people when I travel, love listening to their experience, either as anecdotes or just general chatter… love how small stories become chapters in a larger one.

Off and on, I read about a few people who have chosen different ways to make it a part of their life. Some travel  every single chance they get for fun and juggle jobs; some take a hiatus every now and then and a few special others are backpacking through life as I tap away. And they have made it a sustainable mode of living- they use social media, network, blogs to connect, do part-time jobs on the go to fund their trips… Each to his own. I admire them all.

Recently, I decided to proactively resume travelling just because I wanted to, when I could. I decided to tailor it to my liking and am glad I did. I travelled a bit over the last few years in bits and spurts and always came away with a desire to plan the next trip and feeling happy and satiated, yet tempted. There was so much more left to experience!

I hope to travel a whole lot more and use this blog as a sort of a journal where I can put together those chapters and as a platform to connect with people who travel or intend to or just like to talk about it! and if there’s anyone with a few interesting stories to tell, anecdotes and a few blogging tips to share – nothing like it!

“If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?”.

Hmm…If I can manage to go a year and keep it open, let alone keep blogging (that’ll be something)…I know that I would have travelled more, done a road trip with a close friend (fingers crossed), hope that I would have taken a few good photos, have a few stories to share and many experiences to treasure.

I hope that I would have moved on from first drafts – both in life and writing 🙂

Author: wayfaringscribbler

A whimsical scribbler and wayfarer, comfort loving suburbanite and an armchair supporter of Carpe Diem, with a love for tea and Wodehouse.

Leave a Reply

