What’s your recipe?

I never had this doubt.

I was singularly convinced of the magical powers of procrastination.

You conserve your thoughts, creativity, energy, all building up to that one moment. The compressed strength and creative energy is like liquefied petroleum gas and the pressure of the deadline, an inflammable element, that unleashes it all in a big boom of your best self with heightened senses, sharpened focus and superior performance.

You can’t just turn on creativity like a faucet. You have to be in the right mood.
What mood is that?
Last-minute panic.”
Bill Watterson

So all the while people would speak of discipline and routine cetera. I agreed and decided to tailor it to my life and personality – to the extent that I was most diligent in my study and pursuit of procrastination.

Recently however, I came across something which caught my eye-

Exercise the writing muscle every day, even if it is only a letter, notes, a title list, a character sketch, a journal entry. Writers are like dancers, like athletes. Without that exercise, the muscles seize up.”
Jane Yolen

So the discipline they speak of, is not to hone your talent or support creativity, but to hone your ability to express them?

I understand this difference. Having the ingredients is different from bringing them together in a recipe. Which is still different from having made the dish before…

Promises of potential are but smoke. Till they become instances one can witness and experience.

Creativity is a wild mind and a disciplined eye.”

– Dorothy Parker

Author: wayfaringscribbler

A whimsical scribbler and wayfarer, comfort loving suburbanite and an armchair supporter of Carpe Diem, with a love for tea and Wodehouse.

4 thoughts on “What’s your recipe?”

  1. Good topic but I need to think about it. …..Random thoughts. Procrastination cannot be good.
    Delaying a blog while letting it simmer in the brain is mild procrastination and I’m ok with that.
    We must all have some kind of recipe but it is hard to define. I am going to procrastinate before saying more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice :D.
      I feel letting an idea simmer is beneficial and important – to see where the thought goes, to get the “flow”. Waiting to switch on the gas to till 2 mins before dinner might not be the best move though – and I would often end up doing that :/

      Like

  2. Ah! I like where your thoughts took you here 🙂 I kind of agree, except I probably wouldn’t use the word procrastination to describe the fermentation period of creativity…although I must say my process can be helped by the pressure of a deadline. I might use the word ‘incubation’ 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

